PDA

View Full Version : Enduro Recruiter

wayfinder
02-04-2008, 08:55 PM
Members:

I am throwing down the gauntlet. I would like to put a DBSA team together to "compete" in Enduros. At least to try it at the up-coming Concho Enduro (first weekend in March.)

I have ridden three enduros, so I am still a novice. If you like to ride trails at Zars you would be in DIRT-BIKERS HEAVEN at one of these events. I am hoping one of our members who has competed will step up and join us/lead us. The rules are a little tricky, so it helps to have an experienced rider on your line. If not, we will wing it.

Firstly, for those of you who are concerned that going from recreational riding to "racing," - I fully understand. But an Enduro is nothing more than a GLORIFIED 4 HOUR TRAIL RIDE. It is like running a 5K weekend event - you can make as much of a race as you want, or you can just enjoy the ride at your own comfortable pace. I used to ride hare scrambles (before kids) and can vouch for those events as truly "balls to the wall" racing. The enduro format is much more civilized and evenly spaced - a row/line of 4 riders every 60 seconds. Hopefull we could form at least one row.

A rundown: you start the day at 7.00 am for the riders meeting. "Key time" or the time the first line takes off is usually at 8.00 am. There are 4 riders per row or line leaving each minute thereafter. Then the object is to finish multiple stages at a specific time. Points are deducted if you reach checkpoints early or late. If you have seen Ehrsberg of the Last Man Standing - please know that these events are not "extreme" like those are.

The awesome part of these rides is the scale. How often can you ride on trails similar to Zars only more varied but in a 55 to 75 MILE LOOP!!!! That's right you basically get 4 hours of riding in new territory - it is an awesome adventure!